top of page


Annual Plenary meeting with Ms Bernaerts, Head of Policy at the European Commission & Colleagues


When: 13:00-14:30  on 11th December 2023.  

Venue: University Foundation, Rue d’Egmont 11, Brussels. Meeting room A.

A sandwich lunch will be served from 12.45 onwards.



  • Introduction

  • FSR

  • Market definition notice

  • Modernisation of Regulation 1/2003

  • Article 102 TFEU - exclusionary guidelines

Plenary Meeting 8/12/2022 16:00-18:00 CET



The Foundation Universitaire, Rue d'Egmont 11, Bruxelles Room Emile Francqui


1) Welcome from ECLF president Philippe Chappatte and committee member Dr Liza Lovdahl Gormsen

2) Updates from Head of Policy at the European Commission, Inge Bernaerts, and her colleagues

3) Discussion with the European Commission of the following themes:

a) Market Definition Notice


c) Regulation 1/2003

d) Discussion of general principles of legal certainty and predictability in jurisdictional assessment and recent developments in this regard i.e., Article 22 EUMR and its practical implications.   


Plenary Meeting 25/01/2022 14:00-17:00 CET



1) Welcome from ECLF president Philippe Chappatte and committee member Dr Liza Lovdahl Gormsen

2) Updates from Head of Policy at the European Commission, Inge Bernaerts, and her colleagues

3) Discussion with the European Commission of the following three themes: 

  • European Commission's consultation on merger control (Chair: Antoine Winckler, Partner at Cleary Gottlieb)

  • European Commission's change in Article 22 EUMR procedure (Chair: Nicole Kar, Partner at Linklaters)

  • European Commission's consultation on the draft revised regulation on vertical agreements and vertical guidelines (Chair: Peter Alexiadis, King's College London)  

Plenary Meeting 07/12/2020

The ECLF annual plenary meeting took place virtually due to the ongoing pandemic. It consisted of four different sessions:

  1. New tools to deal with gatekeeper platforms and third country subsidies;

  2. What changes to expect in EU merger control procedures: Articles 22 referrals and simplification;

  3. Review of the GBER, HBER and market definition notice – a state of play; and

  4. Competition policy supporting the Green Deal.

Minutes from the Annual Plenary Meeting 2020

Plenary Meeting 09/12/2019

  1. Update from Acting Deputy Director General for Antitrust and Director of Policy and Strategy at the European Commission Kris Dekeyser.

  2. Discussion of the Special Advisors’ Report by the digitalisation working group with a focus on consumer welfare, burden of proof, self-preferencing, merger control, potential competition and exploitative abuses.

  3. Discussion of the Commission’s review of verticals by the vertical working group including a discussion of genuine agent, ban on the uses of market places, dual role of market places, the Guess decision and MFN

Plenary Meeting 17/06/2015

2pm : ​Welcome from ECLF president Philippe Chappatte

  • Discussion with Director General Alexander Italianer

  • E-commerce Sector Inquiry: (Lead: Thomas Kramler, Commission)

  • Coffee/Networking break

  • Mergers/ Minority shareholdings: (Lead: Julia Brockhoff, Commission)

  • Multi party multi State Commitments: (Lead: Philippe Chappatte, ECLF)

Plenary Meeting 01/04/2014

14.00 welcome: ECLF President Philippe Chappatte

State aid

Discussion lead: Isabel Taylor and ECLF State Aid Working group

  • notion of state aid

  • R&R guidelines

  • new procedural arrangements

16.30 : Merger investigations and use of questionnaires
Discussion lead: Johannes Luebking and Michele Piergiovanni, European Commission

Plenary Meeting 25/05/2012

Merger Procedures 26 June 2012

Plenary Meeting 22/06/2011

Collective Redress
Co-chairs: Michael Rowe, Slaughter and May and Kees Schillemans, Allen and Overy

Leniency Incentives
Co-chairs: Marc Hansen, Latham & Watkins and Antoine Winckler, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton

Plenary Meeting 29/06/2010

Special guests:
Director General Italianer
Carles Esteva Mosso - DG COMP.

Topics and reports:

  1. Transparency and Process
    Working group chairs: Gotz Drauz and Stephen Kinsella

  2. State aid - experiences during the banking crisis
    Working group chair: Jaime Folguera Crespo

Plenary Meeting with DG-Competition officials 11/03/2009

The individual sessions included discussion of:

  1. the European Commission’s public consultation on the operation of the EC Merger Regulation with Carles Esteva Mosso, Claude Rakovsky and Nadia Calvino; 

  2. the reform of the Horizontal Cooperation Guidelines and the Specialisation and R&D Bloc Exemptions with Donncadh Woods.

Round table meeting with DG-Competition officials 09/10/2008

The individual sessions included discussion of:

  1. the Commission's priorities for 2009 with Philip Lowe;

  2. the Commission's review of the functioning of Regulation 1/2003 with Carles Esteva Mosso;

  3. merger control with Nadia Calvino;

  4. settlements with Flavio Laina.

bottom of page